Recognising Achievement


Anna Field

For me, winning the prize was proof that my work mattered, not just to me, but also to the people who read it. I now have much more confidence in my ideas and abilities. The prize will always be one of the reasons why I chose to pursue further academic study.” Anna Field, RHS History Today prize-winner

The RHS awards a range of prizes for historical scholarship which can make all the difference between students pursuing an academic career or giving up.  From prizes for A Level achievement (Frampton & Beazley) to awards for undergraduate dissertations, (History Today and History Scotland), through the Rees Davies award for postgraduate dissertations to the Whitfield and Gladstone prizes, we recognise achievement at each stage of development from success in A Levels to publication of a first monograph.


Lucie Ryzova 2015 joint Gladstone prize winner

Donation in support of the Gladstone Prize

The RHS is delighted to announce that the Linbury Trust has made a donation of £12,500 over five years in support of the Gladstone Prize commencing in 2015. Many thanks indeed for this generation gift.

New RHS Public History Prize

The RHS, in partnership with the IHRs Public History Seminar, is now very pleased to launch a new public history prizebroadening the scope of our recognition of achievement in history. These prizes are a vital means to encourage talent and nurture future historical excellence.  But with your support we could make them have much greater impact.

Donate  How your support could contribute