Conference organisation

These grants are made to conference organisers (of any status) to help finance small, specialised historical conferences where there is substantial involvement of early career (postgraduate and immediate postdoctoral) researchers. The grants are intended to subsidise conference registration fees, which may include accommodation costs, as well as travel costs for these junior researchers.

Roberta Cimino was awarded a grant for the two-day conference ‘Politics and Texts in Late Carolingian Europe, c.870-1000’ held at the University of St Andrews.  In her report on the conference she writes:

Younger scholars and postgraduate students in particular benefited greatly from the opportunity to share their ideas with leading experts in the field. The thought-provoking papers of this conference demonstrated just how much there is still to be said about this formative period of European history and the way we use our sources to understand it.”

Mark Hailwood received RHS support for a conference on ‘History from Below in the 21st Century: Reflections and Directions’ held at Emmanuel College, Cambridge.  Mark writes:

It was particularly satisfying to have significant contributions to these discussions from postgraduate and early career scholars – funds from the RHS had allowed us to waive any registration fee for seven graduate students, and to subsidise travel costs for two of these.”

How to Apply

  • Applications are considered by the Research Support Committee four times a year only. Applications will not be considered for conferences to be held within the four weeks immediately following the closing date. You are advised to consult the schedule of deadlines and to submit your application before the deadline that is at least one month earlier than the start of your conference.

From the 7 January 2020, the RHS is switching to a new online system for applications. If you have an incomplete application that you started before the 6 January 2020, you will be able to access your existing information, and submit your application using the old system until 14th January 2020 using this link.  From 6 January 2020, all new applications for Research Support Grants (including Conference Travel, Research Expenses and Conference Organisation) should be made using the new RHS application system, which can be accessed here.

For more information refer to the Guidelines.

Closing dates for applications and supporting documents in 2021: 25 January, 29 March, 7 June and 18 October

Closing dates for applications and supporting references in 2022: 24 January, 28 March, 6 June and 17 October

All enquiries about research support applications should be addressed to the Administrative Secretary, Imogen Evans, at: