CfP: Bath 250: Celebrating Bath’s Assembly Rooms – deadline 14 June 2021

Date / time: 29 September - 30 September, All day

CfP: Bath 250: Celebrating Bath's Assembly Rooms - deadline 14 June 2021



Bath 250: Celebrating Bath’s Assembly Rooms

The conference, organised by Hilary Burlock (QMUL), Elaine Chalus (Liverpool), Oliver Cox (Oxford), Robin Eagles (History of Parliament) and the National Trust will be held on:

29 & 30 September 2021

30 September 2021 marks the 250th anniversary of the completion and opening of Bath’s magnificent Assembly Rooms. To mark the anniversary is a high-profile event involving as many key figures working on Bath’s history and heritage, with the Assembly Rooms as the focus.

The conference will likely have a hybrid format. 29 September will be hosted virtually. Covid-permitting 30 September 2021 will be held in the Assembly Rooms itself, featuring performances of eighteenth-century dance and music. If necessary, we intend to switch to a virtual platform for the entire event.

Interested scholars are invited to submit abstracts of no more than 250 words by 14 June 2021.

We are seeking papers that relate to themes relevant to the Assembly Rooms and/or Bath and its environs in the Georgian period (e.g., music, dance, performance, fashion, food, medicine, as well as Bath’s economic, social and political history and its national and international connections). We welcome submissions from all scholars, but particularly encourage Postgraduate and Early Career Researchers.

Please submit abstracts and any questions via email to Elaine Chalus (

The following speakers have been confirmed:

  • Professor Roey Sweet, University of Leicester (keynote)
  • Dr. Cathryn Spence, Vancouver Island University (keynote)
  • Dr. Oliver Cox, University of Oxford
  • Dr. Amy Frost, Bath Preservation Trust
  • Dr. Hannah Greig, University of York
  • Professor Steve Poole, University of the West of England, Bristol
  • Professor Elaine Chalus, University of Liverpool
  • Dr. Robin Eagles, History of Parliament
  • Jemima Hubberstey, DPhil candidate, University of Oxford
  • Dr. Rose McCormack, ECR, graduated from Aberystwyth University
  • Associate Professor Gillian Dow, University of Southampton
  • Dr. Matthew Spring, Bath Spa University
  • Hillary Burlock, PhD candidate, Queen Mary University of London

For more information, please see the Conference’s website.

This conference is in association with:

The National Trust, Royal Historical Society, British Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies, Early Dance Circle, The History of Parliament, University of Liverpool, Queen Mary, University of London, and TORCH at the University of Oxford.