The Bayly Prize

10 May 2017

To mark the outstanding contribution of Professor Sir Christopher Bayly to the study of world history, the Royal Asiatic Society invites your support for the establishment of a Prize in his memory.

Given Professor Bayly’s particular areas of scholarly interest, and his life-long encouragement of graduate students and young scholars, the Prize will be awarded, either annually or as funds permit, for a distinguished dissertation on an Asian topic that would fall within the scope of the Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society or of Modern Asian Studies, and which has been approved for the PhD degree by a British university either in the previous calendar year or since the Prize was last awarded.

The Prize will be of the order of £2,500. The winning thesis will be considered for publication as a Royal Asiatic Society Monograph. The Prize will be presented in conjunction with a public lecture to be given by the successful applicant at an open meeting of the Society in London.

The Patrons of the Prize are: Professor Susan Bayly (Professor of Historical Anthropology, Cambridge University), Dr Martin Bayly (British Academy Post-Doctoral Fellow at the LSE), Sir Drummond Bone (Master of Balliol College, Oxford), Professor Joya Chatterji (Professor of South Asian History and Director of the Centre of South Asian Studies, Cambridge University), Professor Sir Christopher Clark (Regius Professor of History, Cambridge University), Professor Timothy Harper (Professor of South East Asian History, Cambridge University), Professor Lyndal Roper (Regius Professor of History, Oxford University), and Dr Taylor Sherman (Associate Professor in International History at the LSE).

For further information and to donate, please go to: